Environmental Health and Safety, Institute Council on

The Institute Council on Environmental Health and Safety is responsible to the President for coordinating the policy development and the assessment of procedures of the several Institute committees concerned with specific areas of environmental health and safety. The council serves as a forum in which overlapping and joint areas of concern of these committees are reviewed and clarified and wherein questions in dispute by individual committees will be resolved. The council is also responsible for identification of those new environmental health and safety matters that may emerge as new activities are undertaken and as new technologies develop or old ones change direction. In instances where such new activities do not fall within the purview of an existing committee, the council may expand the area of concern of an existing committee or recommend the creation of a new committee.

Prof. Ian A. Waitz, Chair *
Office of the President

Prof. Moungi G. Bawendi * Chemistry

Prof. Martin Culpepper Mechanical Engineering

Prof. Rick Lane Danheiser Chemistry

Dr. Tolga Durak *

Campus Services & Stewardship

Dr. Leigh Maxwell Firn * VP for Research

Prof. Myriam Heiman *

Brain & Cognitive Sciences

Mr. Joe Higgins *

Office of the Executive VP & Treasurer

Prof. David E. Housman * Biology

Mr. Robert D. Loynd #
Lincoln Laboratory

Prof. Richard G. Milner * Physics

Dr. Nicolas Robert Paquin #
Environment, Health & Safety Office

Prof. Kelly Ann Metcalf Pate *
Division of Comparative Medicine

Mr. Brian O. Primeau *
Lincoln Laboratory

Prof. Susan S. Silbey

Anthropology Program

Prof. John Kim Vandiver

Deans, Dept Admins and Lab Directors

Prof. Dennis G. Whyte *

Dept Heads Vice President for Research

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration.

LEGEND: * Ex Officio Voting

^ Non-MIT Member

Ex Officio Non-Voting

L On Leave